Morse Code Frustrations

A few months or so ago I started dedicating real time to learn morse code. This consisted mostly of listening to the K7QO code course again. This went rather well until recently. I’m in the low 100’s for sessions and I felt like it all fell apart. I couldn’t copy everything or a lot.

My fist thought was something I noticed before, if I was “zoned out” I could copy by hand well until I thought about what was coming. I was projecting words only to get a different one. This is what I Thought was happening as I would get runs of good copy.

Well last night I decided to listen to some from Gordon Wests speed builder class. This was about 12 wpm and I had little trouble copying at all. So I will start to bump it up a little.

My conclusion is the K7QO course bumps up the speed as you go, to what I don’t know as he never states a speed and for good reasons. This may have been a little to much for me. But now I’m not as frustrated or discouraged as before. I think at this point I need to be making QSO’s.

Leave a comment